There are some states in America that have legalized or decriminalized marijuana possession. Texas is not one of those states. Marijuana possession is something that the state of Texas takes seriously and can lead to jail time and a fine if caught and convicted.
Marijuana possession in Texas comes with a penalty. If you are found with less than two ounces you could face up to 180 days in jail as well as a $2,000 fine for your mistake. Although this will only be considered a misdemeanor, it is still a hefty price to pay for something that is legal in other states.
If you are charged with being in possession of a small amount of marijuana concentrates or hash, you could be facing a punishment that is much worse than regular marijuana possession. This carries with it a felony charge and can land you in state prison for several years and a minimum fine of $10,000.
If you find yourself facing charges of possession of large amounts of marijuana, then you will most certainly be facing a mandatory prison time of at least 2 years and can go as high as 99 years. In addition, you will have to pay a fine of a few thousand dollars up to a maximum of $50,000.
Finding yourself in a Texas court facing marijuana possession charges is not going to be pleasant. However, if you contact a Dallas, San Antonio, Houston, or El Paso marijuana possession attorney, you can have a fighting chance to have your court case dismissed or even reduced to a lower charge.